Farsi - Persian Language

Farsi - Persian Language

Learn more about the official language of Iran, Farsi or as it is usually called in the west, Persian. More »

General info about Iran

General info about Iran

First things you need to know about Iran. More »

Persian Cuisine

Persian Cuisine

Which cuisines should you try while in Iran? More »

Currency and Costs of visit/living in Iran

Currency and Costs of visit/living in Iran

Learn more about the Iranian currency and get an idea of the costs. More »

Your Guide to Iranian Culture

Your Guide to Iranian Culture

What do you know about the rich culture of Iran? What are the popular beliefs and superstitions? What is Tarof? More »

 

National Holidays in Iran

There are generally two kinds of holidays (or free days) in Iran; religious and non-religious. The former is based on the lunar calendar and the latter on the solar calender (official calender of Iran). As a result, the holidays can rotate in the Gregorian calendar.

 

Below you will find a list of national holidays in 2015 (cited from timeanddate.com)

Date Weekday Holiday name Holiday type
Jan 9 Friday Birthday of Muhammad and Imam Sadeq National holiday
Feb 11 Wednesday Revolution Day National holiday
Mar 20 Friday March equinox Season
Mar 20 Friday Oil Nationalization Day National holiday
Mar 21 Saturday Norooz (Persian New Year) National holiday
Mar 22 Sunday Norooz Holiday National holiday
Mar 23 Monday Norooz Holiday National holiday
Mar 24 Tuesday Norooz Holiday National holiday
Mar 24 Tuesday Martyrdom of Fatima National holiday
Apr 1 Wednesday Islamic Republic Day National holiday
Apr 2 Thursday Nature Day National holiday
May 2 Saturday Birthday of Imam Ali National holiday
May 16 Saturday Prophet’s Ascension National holiday
Jun 3 Wednesday Imam Mahdi’s birthday National holiday
Jun 4 Thursday Anniversary of Khomeini’s Death National holiday
Jun 5 Friday Revolt of Khordad 15 National holiday
Jun 21 Sunday June Solstice Season
Jul 8 Wednesday Martyrdom of Imam Ali National holiday
Jul 18 Saturday Eid-e-Fetr (End of Ramadan) National holiday
Aug 11 Tuesday Martyrdom of Imam Sadeq National holiday
Sep 23 Wednesday September equinox Season
Sep 24 Thursday Eid-e-Ghorban (Feast of Sacrifice) National holiday
Oct 2 Friday Eid-al-Ghadir National holiday
Oct 23 Friday Tassoua National holiday
Oct 24 Saturday Ashura National holiday
Dec 2 Wednesday Arbaeen National holiday
Dec 10 Thursday Demise of Prophet Muhammad and Martyrdom of Imam Hassan National holiday
Dec 12 Saturday Martyrdom of Imam Reza National holiday
Dec 22 Tuesday December Solstice Season
Dec 29 Tuesday Birthday of Muhammad and Imam Sadeq National holiday

 

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *